Using InDesign to Create a Magazine Spread

This is the first time I have used InDesign this extensively. Although new and challenging at times, it was fun being able to create a magazine spread using the new skills I learned.

Some of the requirements for this project were to use InDesign, have 3 pages in total and 1 spread, use a 2+ column layout, break up the article with headings, have a pull quote, use 2 relevant images, have a word wrap, have consistent headings and body copy, and have contrasting typography.

With this project, I also had to determine who my target audience was and what message I would deliver that audience. The audience for this particular project were men and women between the ages of 18 to 24 attending Brigham Young University-Idaho. I determined that the message I wanted to communicate with them was the importance of temple attendance while you are in your youth. It is a great habit to develop while in our youth, especially during our college years while we are living on our own.

The next thing I had to do was sketch my design. Having the sketches at hand made it easier for me to know how I wanted my final design to turn out.

Photo by Trevor Albrethsen (Personally Taken Photograph)

For typography, I chose two two contrasting typefaces. Having contrast between fonts makes it easier to read what is on a page. It also leads the eyes of the audience. They will know where to go without really needing to think about it. For the title of the article, I chose a Serif font named Adobe Garamond Pro Bold. For the body of the article, I used a Sans-Serif font named Avenir Light. Because the two fonts are from different typeface categories, the fonts provide a contrast that is pleasing to the eye, but distinguishable enough to not conflict with one another.

Each section is dividing by font that is bigger to help the audience know what will be talked about in the ensuing paragraphs. I also used a pull quote that reminds the audience what the article is about. I feel it does a good job of providing hope.

Photo by Trevor Albrethsen (Personally Taken Photograph)

Lastly, I chose a greenish-blue color and a darker gold color because the colors contrast one another quite well. I wanted colors that more or less matched the colors found in the photographs of the article. I feel they compliment the photographs. On the second page (shown above), the pull quote is inside the dark gold box.

The photographs are relevant to the article. They were taken at an LDS temple and display the beauty and peace that can be found at an LDS temple.

Typography and photography go hand-in-hand in design. They can be used to create beautiful designs that are informative and pleasing to the eye. It was a little hard making sure I implemented each element of designed I aforementioned, but I think it turned out quite well.

Original article can be found here: https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2016/04/see-yourself-in-the-temple?lang=eng

Leave a Reply

